Incumbents do well in yesterday’s general election in Jefferson County

Unofficial results are in for yesterday’s general election and the incumbents won in Jefferson County races.

Jeff Burkett will remain the County District Attorney defeating challenger Joe Ryan while James “Moon” VanSteenburg will continue as County Treasurer defeating challenger James Mackie. Brenda Schumaker retained her position as County Coroner, running unopposed.

In Reynoldsville Borough, four council seats were being contested. Unofficially Kyle Gordon, who is currently serving an unexpired terms on council, won a seat outright for 2022. The votes are then close for incumbents Nichole Walk and Max Smith ( also serving an unexpired term) and newcomer John Chesnalavich, Jr. At press time, there were more than 250 write in votes reported. LeeAnn Toombs launched a write-in campaign for council last week. It will be several weeks before knowing if that campaign was successful. Susan Burkett will be the new Reynoldsville Borough Tax Collector and Mark August* will take over as Mayor in 2022.

In Winslow Township, Mike Mowrey will be the new supervisor running on both the Democratic and Republican tickets.

Again, all these results are unofficial until they are certified by the county.


*Corrected 11/3/21 1:10 p.m. to add Mark August winning mayor’s race.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.