Jeff Tech Operating Committee reorganizes for 2021

The Jeff Tech Operating Committee met on December 9 and the first order of business was reorganization for 2021.

Dr. Fred Park of the Brookville School District was elected to another term as board chairperson, a position he held in 2009-2010 and 2017-2020.

Dr. James Brown of the Brockway School District will continue as the board’s vice chairman. Dr. Thomas Lesniewski of the Punxsutawney School District will continue as the chief administrator.

During the regular meeting that followed the reorganization, the committee approved a motion to keep the regular meetings on the fourth Monday of every month beginning at 6 p.m. There will be no committee meetings in July and November.

The committee also accepted the resignation for retirement for Mr. Thomas Tinker, the drafting, engineer and design instructor, effective January 29, 2021. The board also offered a special thanks to Mr. Tinker for his years of service to Jeff Tech.

A late agenda item was also approved. It sets aside $36,357 for a new public address system. School administrator Dr. Barry Fillman told Reynlow Community News that the current system was so old it was hard to get parts for it and that it sometimes didn’t work in sections of the building.

The committee also recognized donations from the community for shops at the school and Jeff Tech’s backpack program. The gifts totaled $12,225.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.